AISA Victories in Recent SU Polls

Comrade Hemant Khati of AISA was elected as President in the Student University polls in the Lakshman Singh Mahar Government PG College, Pithoragarh, affiliated to Kumaon University. He polled 797 votes, defeating the ABVP candidate by 67 votes. On the post of Secretary, the AISA candidate Neeraj Bisht polled 560 votes, finishing at 3rd place.

AISA has achieved a win in Pithoragarh after a gap of 12 years. The defeat against ABVP is especially significant given that the ABVP got patronage from the Government and administration, which overlooked fraudulent practices by the ABVP candidates such as distributing gifts, sweets etc.

AISA’s campaign focussed against corruption and corporate plunder, privatisation of education, rampant unemployment and scams in Uttarakhand, rights of women students, and other democratic issues.

In the Allahabad University Students Union elections, AISA candidate Shalu Yadav won the Vice President post, polling 2596 votes – the highest among all candidates on any of the four posts. The elections were held after a gap of seven years. AISA leader Ramayan Ram polled 1244 votes on the post of President.

In Samson Ingti College of Hamren sub-division of Karbi Anglong, KSA-AISA won the post of General Secretary and Joint Secretary, as well as the posts of Girls’ common room secretary, music secretary, and cultural secretary. Independents have won the other posts.

Liberation Archive