AIPWA’s 6th UP State Conference

AIPWA organised a State-level rally to mark the beginning of 6th Uttar Pradesh State Conference against the rising violence against women and to protest the anti-women policies of the Central and State governments. The rallyists led by AIPWA General Secretary Comrade Meena Tiwari marched from the Varanasi Cantonment Railway Station to the Conference venue - Nagar Nigam Hall at Sigra. More than 500 women from 16 districts took part in the rally.

The inaugural session was addressed by Comrade Meena Tiwari, Prof. Shahina Rizvi, Jagriti Rahi from Vision Organisation, Dr. Madhu Kushwaha and Chittaranjan Singh from PUCL. More than 500 women delegates attended the Conference. A 41-member State Council and 15 member State Executive were elected from the Conference. Comrade Tahira Hasan and Comrade Geeta Pandey were elected President and Secretary respectively.

Conference concluded with passing of 11-point resolution, including demands for formation of special courts for women and reconstituting the State Women Commission. 

Liberation Archive