RYA National Conference

The fifth national conference of the Revolutionary Youth Association, held on the 14th and 15th of December 2012 in Aminabad (Lucknow), was a great success. 297 representatives from 12 states participated in the conference: from Bihar, Uttar Pradesh, Punjab, Delhi, Rajasthan, Jharkhand, Andhra Pradesh, Tamil Nadu, West Bengal, Tripura, Karbi Anglong, Assam, and Gujarat.

The conference opened on 14th December 2012 with an inaugural speech by CPI(ML) General Secretary, Comrade Dipankar Bhattacharya. He said that youth today will have to take note of their unique position and join the vibrant struggles that are contending with today’s political situation with greater energy and enthusiasm. In the inaugural session, the revolutionary youth were also addressed by CPI(ML) PB member Com. Nand Kishore Prasad, CC member Com. Rajaram Singh, and AIPWA VP Com. Tahira Hasan.

Comrades Anil Anshuman and Nirmohi of the Jan Sanskriti Manch (JSM) sang revolutionary songs and added to the enthusiasm of those present.

In the second session, outgoing General Secretary Kamlesh Sharma presented the political and organizational report of RYA. The report commented upon the current national and global political situation, related problems and the possible role to be played by the youth in this context. The report ended with the observation that ‘a country reeling under corruption, the plunder of national resources, price rise, and unemployment needs a vibrant revolutionary youth movement with a wide base which will pave the way towards a self reliant and democratic India and relegate those powers responsible for political corruption, corporate loot, price rise, subservience to imperialist forces to the dustbin of history’.

80 participants from 12 states participated in writing and in the discussion that followed the presentation of the report. Bharati from Tamil Nadu, Kanwaljeet from Punjab, Bhishm Mahto from Jharkhand, Sujeet Kushwaha from Bihar, Sajal Dey from West Bengal, Pavel Paul from Tripura, Tanweer Ahmed from Uttar Pradesh, Dewan from Assam, K. J. Loveraj from Andhra Pradesh, and Sachin from Delhi and many others enriched the discussion on the report. Kamlesh Sharma presented a summing of the debates that took place over the entire day.

After the discussion on the report, 297 representatives elected a 63-member National Council, which then elected a 21 member National Executive, and 11 office bearers. Amarjeet Kushwaha was elected as President, Ravi Rai as General Secretary, Apoorv Ghosh, Chhotan Majumdar, Naveen, Balmukund Dhuria, Bharati as Secretaries, and Aslam Khan, Navkiran, Amal as Vice Presidents, and Hasmeet as Press Secretary.

The RYA website ( was inaugurated by outgoing President and GS Comrades Mohammed Salim and Kamlesh Sharma.

In his closing speech, Comrade Salim gave the Association his best wishes and urged that the revolutionary youth movement be intensified. As they assumed their new responsibilities, Comrades Amarjeet and Ravi Rai expressed their commitment to expanding the work of the Association and towards intensifying its struggle.

Navkiran Natt

Liberation Archive